Saturday, August 27, 2011

Lucy Maud Montgomery

Since the transition to digital television reception, we have received an extra station known as This on WGAL-2. This broadcasts movies all day long, one after the other. One morning a movie came on entitled Emily Of New Moon. I absolutely loved the scenery of what I first assumed was New England during the late 1800's. I later learned that it was written by the author of Anne Of Green Gables, a book adapted to my favorite all time television series.

Emily Of New Moon was written by Lucy Maud Montgomery, and made into a Canadian Television Series just like Anne Of Green Gables. As in Anne Of Green Gables, Emily Of New Moon is also set on Prince Edward Island.

Lucy Maud Montgomery, like my own mother lost her mother at an early age and was raised by her grandparents. She lived an interesting life as a child, and also spent much time with aunts and uncles. She actually grew up on Prince Edward Island and much of her own life is packed into her novels.

When I read her biography, I saw so many similarities between her life, and mine. We have many of the same character traits, and experiences. When Anne Of Green Gables was rejected by several publishers she stored it away in an old hat box and wrote this in her journal: “I wrote it for love, not money, but very often such books are the most successful, just as everything in the world that is born of true love has life in it.”
I have often said that my book, My Ominous Adventures At True Blue Farm, The Secret Behind The Mirror was originally written for my grandchildren as a family history lesson. I wanted them to know all about my Great Aunt Ree and Uncle Bill's farm, and the fun I always had there. The reason I added the many details of the home was to give my grand children a vivid vision of the way the house looked when I was a child.

I love the time period of the Lucy Maud Montgomery books, Anne Of Green Gables, and Emily Of New Moon, and the close family connections of the extended families. Prince Edward Island seems to be a beautiful place, and is definitely on my bucket list of places to visit. There are museums there in honor of this prolific author.

I so recommend that you read the wonderful books of Lucy Maud Montgomery.
L.M. Montgomery titles include:
Anne of Avonlea (1909),
Chronicles of Avonlea (1912),
Anne of the Island (1915),
Further Chronicles of Avonlea (1920),
Anne’s House of Dreams (1917),
Anne of Windy Poplars (1936), and
Anne of Ingleside (1939).
Kilmeny of the Orchard (1910),
The Story Girl (1911),
The Golden Road (1913),
The Watchman and Other Poems (1916),
The Alpine Path: The Story Of My Career first serialised in Everywoman’s World (1917),
Rainbow Valley (1919),
Further Chronicles of Avonlea (1920),
Rilla of Ingleside (1920),
Emily of New Moon (1923) ,
Emily Climbs (1925),
Magic For Marigold (1925),
The Blue Castle (1926),
Emily’s Quest (1927),
A Tangled Web (1931),
Pat of Silver Bush (1933),
Courageous Women (non-fiction, 1934),
Mistress Pat (1935), and
Jane of Lantern Hill (1936).
Lucy Maud Montgomery Macdonald died of congestive heart failure in Toronto on 24 April 1942. Her body lay in state at Green Gables, then she was buried in her home town’s Cavendish Cemetery. Her husband, Reverend Ewan Macdonald now rests beside her.
“We must follow our ‘airy voices’, follow them through bitter suffering and discouragement and darkness, through doubt and disbelief, through valleys of humiliation and over delectable hills where sweet things would lure us from our quest, ever and always must we follow, if we would reach the ‘far-off divine event’ and look out thence to the aerial spires of our City of Fulfilment.”

No comments:

Post a Comment